

May 9, 2014

Tekmira Reports on Voting Results From 2014 Annual Meeting of Shareholders

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, May 9, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Tekmira Pharmaceuticals Corporation (Nasdaq:TKMR) (TSX:TKM), a leading developer of RNA interference (RNAi) therapeutics, announced the voting results from its Annual General and Special Meeting of Shareholders held Thursday May 8, 2014 in Vancouver, B.C. Shareholders voted in favor of all items of business, including the election of each of the six director nominees as follows:

Nominee	Votes For	% For	Votes Withheld	% Withheld
Peggy Phillips	7,903,418	99.79%	16,513	0.21%
Kenneth Galbraith	7,904,317	99.80%	15,614	0.20%
Don Jewell	7,906,117	99.83%	13,814	0.17%
Frank Karbe	7,904,192	99.80%	15,739	0.20%
Daniel Kisner	7,901,142	99.76%	18,789	0.24%
Mark J. Murray	7,902,367	99.78%	17,564	0.22%

About Tekmira

Tekmira Pharmaceuticals Corporation is a biopharmaceutical company focused on advancing novel RNAi therapeutics and providing its leading lipid nanoparticle delivery technology to pharmaceutical partners. Tekmira has been working in the field of nucleic acid delivery for over a decade and has broad intellectual property covering LNPs. Further information about Tekmira can be found at www.tekmira.com. Tekmira is based in Vancouver, B.C.

CONTACT: Investors

Tekmira Investor Relations

Phone: 604-419-3200

Email: ir@tekmira.com

Media

Alan Bayless

Longview Communications Inc.

Phone: 604-694-6035

Email: abayless@longviewcomms.ca